2016 - 545th All Black test

17 September 2016

545th All Black test

NEW ZEALAND v SOUTH AFRICA (THE RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP 2016, 1st test) at AMI Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand

Saturday 17th September 2016


Fulltime score – New Zealand 41 South Africa 13

Halftime – New Zealand 15 South Africa 10

Attendance; 21,000

Conditions; Weather clear but cool, dry ground; evening game


Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Pascal Gauzere (France), Marius Mitrea (Italy)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

The scorers:

For New Zealand (41)
Tries: Dagg, J Savea, B Smith, A Savea, Whitelock, Perenara
Cons: Barrett (4)
Pen: Barrett

For South Africa (13)
Try: Habana
Con: Jantjies
Pens: Jantjies (2)

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Israel Dagg (rep’d by L.Sopoaga 68m), 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Ryan Crotty (rep’d by A Lienert-Brown 67m), 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith (rep’d by T.J.Perenara 64m), 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 A.Savea (rep’d by L.Romano 60m), 6 Jerome Kaino (rep’d by M.Todd 52m), 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks (rep’d by C.Faumuina 54m), 2 Dane Coles (rep’d by C.Taylor 67m) and 1 Joe Moody (rep’d by W.Crockett 46m)

South Africa: 15 Johan Goosen (rep’d by Damian de Allende 51m), 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Elton Jantjies (rep’d by Morne Steyn 60m), 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Teboho Mohoje (rep’d by Willem Alberts 51m), 6 Francois Louw (rep’d by Jaco Kriel 60m), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit (rep’d by Franco Mostert 63m), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch (rep’d by Lourens Adriaanse 72m), 2 Adriaan Strauss (c) (rep’d by Malcolm Marx 44m) and 1 Tendai Mtawarira (rep’d by Steven Kitshoff 60m)


With this win the All Blacks regained The Rugby Championship; which they had last held in 2014 (Australia had been the winners last year) The win came with two rounds of the competition still to play.

New Zealand’s test winning record moved up to 15 tests in a row.

Kieran Read set a new world record in this game; winning his first 15 test matches as a captain. (Beating Brian Lochore’s former record of 14, beginning in 1966)

Owen Franks completed his 84th test match without scoring a try; thus setting a new world ‘non try-scoring’ mark. The previous record of 83 non-scoring test matches was held by Salvatore Perugini of Italy.

Comments 0

You cannot post comments until you have logged in.
Login Here or Click Here to Register.